CCS codes for CPT/HCPCS

Clinical Classifications Software

See Clinical Classifications here.Access to this feature is available in the following products:
  • HCC Plus
  • Find-A-Code Professional
  • Find-A-Code Facility Base

Overview of Clinical Classifications Software for Services and Procedures (CCS-Services and Procedures)

CCS-Services and Procedures provides a method for classifying Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®) codes and Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes into clinically meaningful procedure categories. CPT is a proprietary coding system developed by the American Medical Association (AMA) for coding services provided by health care professionals. CPT is also referred to as HCPCS Level I. HCPCS (also referred to as HCPCS Level II) is a supplementary coding system developed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to account for supplies and services not accounted for in CPT (HCPCS Level I). The procedure categories are identical to the CCS with the addition of specific categories unique to the professional service and supply codes in CPT/HCPCS. CCS-Services and Procedures is current as of 2023 and can be used with any data that include CPT or HCPCS procedure information.

More than 9,000 CPT/HCPCS codes and 6,000 HCPCS codes are collapsed into 244 clinically meaningful categories that may be more useful for presenting descriptive statistics than are individual CPT or HCPCS codes. For example, CCS-Services and Procedures can be used to identify populations for procedure-specific studies or to develop statistical reports providing information (such as charges and length of stay) about relatively specific procedures.


request yours today
start today
free subscription

Thank you for choosing Find-A-Code, please Sign In to remove ads.