Risk Adjustment and Hierarchical Condition Category Coding and Auditing

by  Michelle West, CPC, CEMC, CPMA, CRC
December 2nd, 2016

Risk Adjustment (RA) and Hierarchical Condition Category (HCC) coding is a payment model mandated by CMS in 1997, which was implemented in 2003. This model identifies individuals with serious or chronic illness and assigns a risk factor score to the person based upon a combination of the individual's health conditions and demographic details (called the Risk Adjustment Factor or RAF).

The individual's health conditions are identified by the International Classification of Diseases - 10 (ICD -10) diagnoses that are submitted by providers on incoming claims. There over 9000 ICD-10 codes that map to 79 HCC codes in the RA model. As outlined in the Medicare Managed Care Manual, "CMS administers risk-adjusted payments to Medicare Advantage (MA) organizations..."

CMS requires documentation in the patient's medical record by a qualified health care provider to support the submitted diagnosis(es). Documentation must support the presence of the condition and clearly support the provider's assessment and plan for management of the condition.

The chronic conditions that are current and managed must be reported (and supported by the documentation for that date of service) at least once each calendar year for CMS to continue to "count" that condition towards the patient's overall risk level.

The Official ICD-10 coding guidelines state that a condition must exist at the time of the encounter and affect the patient's care, or be actively managed AND are documented through the History of Present Illness (HPI), the Physical Exam, and the medical decision making. Each reported diagnosis should be documented in an assessment and a plan of care. According to CMS a simple list of "assessed" conditions alone would not support the diagnosis(es) reported without showing that the condition is current (active) at the time and/or evaluation and treatment for each condition.

M.E.A.T. is an acronym used to describe factors that support the ICD-10 code(s) chosen. Please see below for the acronym description and what they mean:

M = Monitor (signs, symptoms, disease progression, disease regression)

E = Evaluate (test results, medication effectiveness, response to treatment)

A = Assess/Address (ordering tests, discussion, review records, counseling)

T= Treat (medications, therapies, other modalities)

Some common issues to be aware of when coding or auditing for support of reported diagnosis(es):

Be on the lookout for more information and services from NAMAS regarding coding and auditing for Risk Adjustment HCCs!

Risk Adjustment and Hierarchical Condition Category Coding and Auditing. (2016, December 2). Find-A-Code Articles. Retrieved from https://www.findacode.com/articles/risk-adjustment-and-hierarchical-condition-category-coding-and-auditing-31753.html

© InnoviHealth Systems Inc

Article Tags  (click on a tag to see related articles)

Publish this Article on your Website, Blog or Newsletter

This article is available for publishing on websites, blogs, and newsletters. The article must be published in its entirety - all links must be active. If you would like to publish this article, please contact us and let us know where you will be publishing it. The easiest way to get the text of the article is to highlight and copy. Or use your browser's "View Source" option to capture the HTML formatted code.

If you would like a specific article written on a medical coding and billing topic, please Contact Us.


innoviHealth Systems, Inc.
62 East 300 North
Spanish Fork, UT 84660
Phone: 801-770-4203 (8-5 Mountain)
free demo
request yours today
free subscription
for any budget

Thank you for choosing Find-A-Code, please Sign In to remove ads.