Hypertensive diseases

International Classification of Diseases for Mortality and Morbidity Statistics, 11th Revision, v2024-01

Although a continuous association exists between higher BP and increased cardiovascular disease risk, it is useful to categorize BP levels for clinical and public health decision making. Recent guidelines categorise systemic hypertension into 4 levels on the basis of average BP measured in a healthcare setting (office pressures): • Normal: systolic BP < 120 mmHg and diastolic BP < 80 mmHg • Elevated: systolic BP 120-129 mmHg and diastolic BP < 80 mmHg • Stage 1 hypertension: systolic BP 130-139 mmHg or diastolic BP 80-89 mmHg • Stage 2 hypertension: systolic BP 140 mmHg or more, diastolic BP 90 mmHg or more In children, systemic hypertension is defined as an average systolic or diastolic blood pressure equal or higher than the 95th percentile appropriate for the sex, age and height of the child. The complications of uncontrolled or prolonged hypertension include damage to the blood vessels, heart, kidneys and brain.


code elsewhere

sections/codes in this section (BA00-BA04.Z)

request yours today
start today
free subscription

Thank you for choosing Find-A-Code, please Sign In to remove ads.