AMA CPT® Assistant - 1990 Issue 4 (April)

What is HCPCS? (Winter 1990)

Winter 1990 page 1a What is HCPCS? The required coding system for submitting Medicare Part B claims is the Health Care Financing Administration's (HCFA) Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS). Since October 1, 1985, all Medicare Part B Carriers have used this system. The system is structured in three levels: Level One - is the American Medical Association's Current Procedural Terminology (CPT). Level Two - consists of alphanumeric procedure codes (a 5 digit code, with a leading alphabetic character and 4 numbers, e.g., A1234). These codes are assigned by HCFA to designate such services as durable medical equipment, ambulance...

To read the full article, sign in and subscribe to the AMA CPT® Assistant.

Access to this feature is available in the following products:
  • AMA's CPT® Assistant - Current + Archives

free demo
request yours today
for any budget
sign IN
welcome back!

Thank you for choosing Find-A-Code, please Sign In to remove ads.