tci E/M Coding Alert - 2017 Issue 4

PFSH 101: Hone Your PFSH Skills to Excel in History Coding

There are two kinds of PFSH — pertinent and complete. If you find it challenging to calculate the correct level of service for your evaluation and management (E/M) services, you are not alone. Medicare’s 1995 and 1997 E/M Documentation Guidelines recognize seven components to defining E/M levels, with the first three — history, examination, and medical decision making (HEM) — as the key components. The history component includes the following elements: chief complaint (CC); history of present illness (HPI); review of systems (ROS); and past medical, family, and social history (PFSH). The level of service will determine the...

To read the full article, sign in and subscribe to tci E/M Coding Alert.

Stay informed, get answers to your E/M coding and documentation questions, and find the help you need to bank your deserved pay with your subscription to TCI’s E/M Coding Alert.

  • Current newsletters added each month
  • Fully searchable archives - over 500 articles
  • ALL years/issues back to 2013 organized by year and issue
  • Codes mentioned in articles are linked to Code Information pages
  • Code Information pages link back to related articles
Access to this feature is available in the following products:
  • tci E/M Coding Alert +Archives

free demo
request yours today
for any budget
sign IN
welcome back!