AHA Coding Clinic® for HCPCS - 2001 Issue 4

Changes to the inpatient only list

The “Inpatient-Only List” refers to a set of services that the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)considers to require inpatient care and are therefore covered only when provided in an inpatient setting. Typically these are services that are invasive procedures, or services performed on patients who may need at least 24 hours of postoperative recovery time or monitoring before the patient can be safely discharged. It is important for hospitals to ensure that their medical staffs are aware of the list and are knowledgeable regarding the procedures on the list. CMS’ current policy is to review the...

To read the full article, sign in and subscribe to the AHA Coding Clinic® for HCPCS.

The AHA Coding Clinic for HCPCS includes:

  • The official publication for Level I HCPCS (CPT-4 codes) for hospital providers
  • Also specific Level II HCPCS codes for hospitals, physicians and other health professionals
  • Current newsletters added each quarter
  • Full Archives back to 2001
  • Fully searchable through Find-A-Code's Comprehensive Search
  • Codes mentioned in articles are linked to Code Information pages
  • Code Information page link back to related articles
  • View all the articles associated with any code, right from the code page!
Access to this feature is available in the following products:
  • AHA's Coding Clinic® - HCPCS +Archives

free demo
request yours today
for any budget
sign IN
welcome back!

Thank you for choosing Find-A-Code, please Sign In to remove ads.